I am Oprah, I am Mindy, I am Cassey. My 2014 Resolutions.

This post is inspired by this prompt at The Daily Post.

New Year’s Day has come and gone, and since the world isn’t shivering in fear over coming to an end (as it was in 2012), we’ve all made our resolutions and posted them on Facebook – in fact, I think I have read more resolutions on my Newsfeed than I have seen selfies in the last two days. They range from pleasant vagaries (“I promise to be a better person this year”) to very specific, drill-sergeant type torture-plans (“32 push-ups every morning, 15 squats, 10 lunges, repeat!”) and they all had one effect on my unexcited 2014 self: they made me wonder what I wanted to change about myself. What was it that I wanted to focus on this year and improve about myself?

In order to narrow down the million or so options that immediately rushed to my head (thinner, prettier, healthier hair and skin, read 100 books, clean my room EVERY DAY, exercise 1 hr every day!) I decided to think about who I would like to be. Did I want to be Christina Aguilera, whose self-confidence knew no bounds? She was comfortable with her body no matter what size. Did I want to be like Tina Fey, whose humor and quirkiness was a thing to marvel at? Did I want to be smart like that Google employee in The Internship? Who did I want to be?

I made lists in my head and thought it all through, and I decided that I wanted to be like a few people – not just one. So here’s the list:

1.Oprah

201008-omag-oprah-cover-600x411

Not only is she a self-made success, Oprah overcame significant personal difficulties and made it in a business she was passionate about. Starting at the bottom of the food chain, she is now reigning queen of popular daytime shows, with an audience that spans multiple generations, and a show closet that could contain my entire house. She also gives back, in a big way. She made a first class boarding school for underprivileged girls in Africa, and how many times have we seen her give a car or a house or participate in rehabilitation efforts after natural disasters? I think a lot of us could do with having Oprah as a role model.

My Oprah Resolution of 2014: Remain focused on my academic and professional goals and give them top priority.

2. Cassey Ho from Blogilates

mzl-wblmhmjr

This woman has a passion for exercise and healthy eating. That is evident from her workout videos, fit lifestyle motivators and a plethora of other related products that she markets online. She has turned it into a business, a career for herself. Her success in maintaining a truly healthy lifestyle (as far as I can tell) is so inspiring for so many young women who have joined the Blogilates community.

My Cassey Ho Resolution: To do at least 30 mins of exercise every day, whether it is dancing to the latest Avril Lavigne song, or doing some brisk walking. It’s important to maintain some level of activity and not succumb to living a sedentary life. In 2014, I am going to up my energy.

3. Mindy Lahiri from The Mindy Project

I only recently started watching this show, and Mindy Kaling’s character on the quirky office comedy is not only kind to a fault, but also looks at life through an entirely unique perspective. She is not afraid to be her plus-size self, even if that leads to her saying or doing things that others might judge her for. Though I may not agree with everything the character does, this is something I do agree with.

My Mindy Lahiri Resolution: Be confident. Don’t let your trivial insecurities about your quirks or weight get to you. You are a strong individual and you are going to achieve your goals. The world is your oyster – and life needs to be lived.

3 thoughts on “I am Oprah, I am Mindy, I am Cassey. My 2014 Resolutions.

  1. Pingback: I am Oprah, I am Mindy, I am Cassey. My 2014 Resolutions. | Pakistani Bloggers

  2. Pingback: I am Oprah, I am Mindy, I am Cassey. My 2014 Resolutions. | Pakistan Blogger

  3. Pingback: I am Oprah, I am Mindy, I am Cassey. My 2014 Resolutions. | Pakistani News

Share your thoughts:

